IT’S OKAY NOT TO BE OKAY

In this guest post by writer and runner Samantha H Smith, we hear about loss – sadly, an ongoing problem in the gastroparesis community. Samantha has dealt with plenty of it, but she finds strength somehow.

“It’s Okay Not To Be Okay” – by Samantha Smith 05/15/17

I’ve been sitting here trying to write about loss for a few days now. Some days, my mind just doesn’t want to form words, or even try to comprehend all the emotions I’m feeling.

Recently, the GP community lost a sister; a brave and beautiful soul who meant the world to many people. I myself considered her a good friend; someone I was truly lucky enough to know and love. She was the kind of person who no matter what she had going on, she made time for you.

When I was at my sickest, and TPN became a reality, Dalia was right there, offering hope, advice and comfort. I’d always considered her a friend, but it was during that time that we grew close.

Everyone will experience loss at one time or another. Someone in your life may die. You may lose a job, a friendship, or a significant other. Loss is difficult, but loss is normal. I want you to know, it’s OKAY to not be okay. It’s okay to have bad days. Some days, the pain will be less, and you may be fine. Some days, the pain may be so overwhelming you can’t get out of bed. I’ve learned to be okay with myself during both days.

Just remember, it won’t last forever. Things will get better. You WILL be okay.

 


Samantha is 27, from upstate NY. She lives with a few chronic illnesses, one being Gastroparesis. She has a Bachelors degree in forensic psychology that she hopes to have a career in someday. Writing and running are both passions of hers. You can find more of her writing at her blog https://hustleandheart2016.wordpress.com/ .

Image credit: www.snappygoat.com

 

One thought on “IT’S OKAY NOT TO BE OKAY

Leave a Reply

